>Malabar Christian College Logo Title
About the Department The department of Chemistry was established in 1957 with the bachelor’s degree course and the post graduation course was started in 1999. The department became a research department offering PhD. Course in 2008.
Programmes Undergraduate Programme: It is a three year (six semester) programme, minimum eligibility for which is an intermediate (10+2) in science. The annual intake is 48 students. A student is required to acquire a minimum of 140 credits for passing the degree programme, of which 120 credits are to be acquired from class room study. These are audit courses and ability enhancement courses, which are mandatory for a programme but not counted for the calculation of SGPA or CGPA. The first 4 semesters the students will have english and a second language of their choice for study, last two semesters with the core courses only. The two complementary cousers offered in the college are Physics and Mathematics. The core course will have a project in the last semester.
B.Sc. Chemistry Programme is aimed to prepare the students for lifelong learning and innovation by introducing core concepts of Chemistry. The students are trained to acquire laboratory skills required for the quantitative and qualitative aspects of chemistry. Post graduate Programme: It is a two year (four semester) programme, minimum eligibility for which is bachelor’s degree in Chemistry with 50% marks and above. The annual intake is 12 students. Total credit for the programme will be 80. The students will have to complete a project work in the final semester. The students are encouraged to  do their master’s project at various national labs and research institutes. Research Programme: The department offers PhD programme in Physical and materials chemistry and inorganic chemistry There are four research supervisors at present.
Faculty Members
  1. Dr. Rema V T (Head  and Associate Professor)
  2. Dr. Sheeba P S ( Associate Professor)
  3. Dr. Prajila M  ( Assistant Professor)
  4. Dr. Jeeja Rani A T   (Assistant Professor)
  5. Smt. Elsy Shereena (Assistant Professor)
  6. Dr. Govind Raj K (Assistant Professor)



Sl. No. Title Year Regional/National/International


Former Faculty Members
  1. Prof. O. AchuthaMenon
  2. Prof. P.P.Krishnan
  3. Prof. K.Ramachandran
  4. Prof. P.S.Subramanian
  5. Dr.K.Chandra Bose
  6. Dr.K.Raveendran
  7. Prof. M.Haridas Menon
  8. Dr.P.K.Unni
  9. Prof. P.K.madhavan
  10. Prof. M.P.Sreedharan Nair
  11. Prof.K.Venugopalan
  12. Prof.Elizabeth Vaseelakumari
  13. Prof. R.Geetha
  14. Dr.Koshykunju Malayil
  15. Dr.SusanVarkey
  16. Dr.K.K.Devadasan
  17. Dr.P.V.Marykutty
  18. Dr. K V Sudhakaran
  19. Dr. Susannah Seth
  20. Sri. Haris C
  21. Dr.Sreejith M Nair