M.Sc Chemistry


12 Students
Duration: 3 Years
Lectures: 11
Certificate of Completion


Master of Science in Chemistry is one of the prestigious course offered by the Department of Chemistry, Malabar Christian College. Every year 12 students are admitted to M.Sc Chemistry course. The course duration is 2 years with 2 semesters per year. The department has well-equipped laboratories for conducting Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry practical classes. As a part of the master’s course, students are also encouraged to carry out short-term research projects at different prestigious laboratories across the country.

Basic Eligibility

The eligibility criteria for pursuing a master’s degree is a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry. The duration for this course is 2 years.

Job Prospects

Being a specialist in chemistry, an M.Sc. holder in Chemistry can take lead roles in industry and can join higher positions in academia, government, non-profit organizations. Many chemists with practical expertise and good theoretical knowledge have evolved as successful entrepreneurs. A postgraduate in Chemistry is also eligible to appear for various national level competitive examinations like CSIR-JRF, GATE, etc. Many of our students have joined different prestigious national institutions for PhD after clearing these examinations.

Former Faculty

  1. Sri. O. Achutha Menon (…1957)
  2. Sri. P. P. Krishnan, M.A., A.I.I.S.C (1954 –79)
  3. Sri. K. Ramachandran, B.Sc.(Hons) (1958 – 92)
  4. Sri. P. S. Subramanian, B.Sc. (1962 – 92)
  5. Sri. M. Haridas Menon, M.Sc. (1963 – 95)
  6. Dr. P. K. Unni, M.Sc., Ph.D (1965 – 99)
  7. Sri. P. K. Madhavan, M.Sc., L.L.B. (1970 – 2000)
  8. Sri. M. P. Sreedharan Nair, M.Sc., M.A. (1968 – 2001)
  9. Sri. K. Venugopalan, M.Sc. (1969 –2004)
  10. Smt. R. Geetha, M.Sc., B.Ed
  11. Dr. Koshy Kunjumalayil, M.Sc., Ph.D
  12. Dr. Susan Varkey, M.Sc., Ph.D
  13. Dr. K. K. Devadasan, M.Sc., M.Phil.
  14. Dr. P. V. Marykutty, M.Sc., B. Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D
  15. Dr. Deepa C. S, MSc, PhD
  16. Dr. K. V. Sudhakaran MSc, PhD

Supporting Staff

  1. Mr. Sunil Joison Stanly
  2. Mrs. Brijith Sheeba (On Contract)
  3. Mr. Roopesh Godfred (On Contract)