B.Sc Physics


40 Students
Duration: 3 Years
Lectures: 8
Certificate of Completion


B.Sc. Physics – Stands for Bachelor of Science in Physics. Typically, a B.Sc. is a three year course, minimum eligibility for which is an intermediate (10+2) in science. Physics is a natural science that studies matter and its motion through space-time and concepts like energy and force. Subjects usually studied under this degree are General Physics, Mathematical Physics, Mechanics, Chemistry, Electricity and Magnetism, Microprocessor and Computer Programming, Thermal Physics, Numerical Analysis, Quantum Mechanics, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Statistical Physics, Nuclear and Particle Physics etc.

Basic Eligibility

For admission in a bachelor’s degree, the candidate must have passed the higher secondary school certificate (10+2) examination with science subject such as biology, maths and chemistry.  The duration for this course is 3 years.

Job Prospects

There are a lot of career opportunities in the field of physics, chemistry and mathematics. Graduates in this physics field are employed in schools, colleges, government and private organizations and in different industries.  Chemicals are used in everything that we use these days, whether it is medicines, food or electronics.

Chemists are mostly employed in pharmaceutical industries, institutions, research institutes, schools and government laboratories. Industries involved in manufacturing and processing of food and beverage products such as cheese, noodles, jams, biscuits and readymade food items also employ chemistry graduates.

Most of the mathematicians are placed in government sectors and in industries such as research operations, commercial surveys and numerical analysis. Graduates with higher degrees in applied mathematics have a wide array of job opportunities to choose from.

Members of the Faculty

  1. Dr. P.V. Dhanaraj M.Sc., Ph.D [Head of the Department]
  2. Dr. Akhil R Krishnan M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D.
  3. Dr. Deepa M, M.Sc. Ph.D
  4. Mr. Sreejith P., M.Sc., B.Ed.
  5. Ms. Drisya K (Guest Faculty, Govt)
  6. Ms. Indu Swaroopa K (Guest Faculty, Govt)

Former Faculty

  1. Prof. Nanu (1930-65) [Head]
  2. Prof. Gopinath (1953-82)
  3. Prof. Edward Augustus (1965-1975), (1979-1980) [Head]
  4. Prof. K. M. Jayaraj (1969-1989) [Head]
  5. Prof. P. P. Purushothan (1968-1970), (1972-1998)
  6. Prof. Dr. Gopalakrishnan Nambi (1990-2001) [Head]
  7. Prof. P. V. Chandra Mohan (1971-2001) [Head]
  8. Prof. T. R. Sudarsanan (1967-2002) [Head]
  9. Prof. Valsala Krishnan (1979-2004) 5. Sri. V. Rajagopalan
  10. Sri. N. Unnikrishnan
  11. Sri. M. K. Sadanandan
  12. Smt. Lalu Zachariah
  13. Dr. K. Rajasekharan
  14. Sri. Varghese Mathew


a) Electronics Club.

b) Astronomy Club – ( AstroMCC )

Physics Alumni Malabar Christian College Calicut (PAMC)