B.Sc Chemistry


48 Students
Duration: 3
Lectures: 11
Certificate of Completion


Malabar Christian College offers Bachelor of Science in Chemistry with Physics and Mathematics as complementary subjects. Every year 48 students are admitted to B.Sc Chemistry course. The course duration is 3 years with 2 semesters per year. The Department of Chemistry, Malabar Christian College is known for the rigorous practical and theory classes. The students are encouraged to participate in effective interaction with the faculty members in order to enhance subject knowledge. The department also extends enough support for extracurricular activities and soft skills development.

Basic Eligibility

For admission to bachelor’s degree, the candidate must have passed the higher secondary school certificate (10+2) examination in science stream with Chemistry as one of the subjects.

Job Prospects

Chemistry graduates can find fit into various fields like industry, academia, government, non-profit, and entrepreneurship. A bachelor’s degree will prepare you for a wider variety of positions, including bench scientist, technical support specialist, or quality control/quality assurance work. According to American Chemical Society, most chemists work in private industries such as basic chemicals, specialty chemicals, and consumer chemicals.  A master’s degree will prepare you to be a research assistant or get you started on the management track.  At the Ph.D. level, you will be expected to routinely take on more advanced roles, including supervising others and contributing original solutions to complex problems of fundamental scientific interest and/or technical importance. The higher your level of education, you will have more independence, control and responsibility for your own projects.

Members of the Faculty

  1. Dr. Susannah Seth (Head of the Department)
  2. Sri. C. Haris
  3. Dr. Rema. V. T.
  4. Dr. Sreejith M Nair
  5. Dr. Sheeba. P. S.
  6. Dr. Prajila M
  7. Mrs. Jeeja Rani A. T.
  8. Ms. Elsy Shereena
  9. Dr. Govind Raj K
  10. Ms. Haritha (Guest Faculty. Govt.)

Former Faculty

  1. Sri. O. Achutha Menon (…1957)
  2. Sri. P. P. Krishnan, M.A., A.I.I.S.C (1954 –79)
  3. Sri. K. Ramachandran, B.Sc.(Hons) (1958 – 92)
  4. Sri. P. S. Subramanian, B.Sc. (1962 – 92)
  5. Sri. M. Haridas Menon, M.Sc. (1963 – 95)
  6. Dr. P. K. Unni, M.Sc., Ph.D (1965 – 99)
  7. Sri. P. K. Madhavan, M.Sc., L.L.B. (1970 – 2000)
  8. Sri. M. P. Sreedharan Nair, M.Sc., M.A. (1968 – 2001)
  9. Sri. K. Venugopalan, M.Sc. (1969 –2004)
  10. Smt. R. Geetha, M.Sc., B.Ed
  11. Dr. Koshy Kunjumalayil, M.Sc., Ph.D
  12. Dr. Susan Varkey, M.Sc., Ph.D
  13. Dr. K. K. Devadasan, M.Sc., M.Phil.
  14. Dr. P. V. Marykutty, M.Sc., B. Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D
  15. Dr. Deepa C. S, MSc, PhD
  16. Dr. K. V. Sudhakaran MSc, PhD

Supporting Staff

  1. Sunil Joison Stanly
  2. Mrs. Brijith Sheeba (On Contract)
  3. Mr. Roopesh Godfred (On Contract)